How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat (+ What Happens After)

Jordan Wahl
Jordan Wahl  |  November 27, 2018

We’ve all experienced a time in our lives where we reach a high level of pettiness causing us to make unreasonable decisions. Admit it – you’ve been there.

Take, for example, that one time your friend said something that annoyed you and you blocked him or her on social media out of irrational rage. Oops.

Luckily, these blocks aren’t permanent. In fact, unblocking these people is actually pretty easy.

With that, I’m here to show you how to unblock someone on Snapchat. If you’re familiar with how to use Snapchat, this should be a breeze for you.

Related: In the case that you’re not irrationally blocking someone and actually have someone harassing you on Snapchat, learn how to block someone on Snapchat.

How to unblock someone on Snapchat

Below I’ll go through the process step-by-step with photos (for the visual learners in the house) and discuss what happens after you unblock someone on Snapchat. Let’s get to it.

To unblock a Snapchat friend:

1. Tap the ‘Settings’ gear on your profile screen

Navigate to your profile screen (the screen with your bitmoji) and tap the ‘Settings’ gear in the top-right corner of the screen.

unblocking-someone-on-snapchat

 

2. Scroll down to ‘Blocked’

 Once you’ve opened the ‘Settings’ menu, you’ll need to scroll down to the ‘Account Actions’ section where you’ll find ‘Blocked’ – tap this.

how-to-unblock-someone-on-snapchat

 

3. Select the user you want to unblock

 A list of users that you’ve blocked will appear. Tap the ‘X’ next to the name of the user you’d like to unblock. 

unblocking-a-friend-on-snapchat4. Confirm to unblock

Snapchat will require you to confirm that you want to unblock this user. Tap ‘Yes’ to unblock your Snapchat friend. 

unblocking-a-user-on-snapchat

  

You’ve now successfully unblocked this user! They will disappear from your blocked list and can now see your Snapchat Stories and send you Snaps again.

BUT – there are a few other things to note now that you’ve unblocked this Snapchatter.

 

What happens after you unblock someone on Snapchat

If you were wondering how to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat – here’s your answer.

Blocking another user ensures that they won't find any trace of your account moving forward. They will be unable to contact you in any way from their account and they are removed from your Snapchat friends list.

So depending on your reason for blocking that user, they may be able to tell that you blocked them in the first place.

If you’re just looking to unblock the user so they can see your Stories and send you Snaps again, you won't need to re-add the user. In this case, they won’t know that you blocked them.

But if you’re looking to be Snapchat friends with them once again, you’ll need to re-add that user as a friend. In this case, they will know that you blocked or removed them at some point in time.

Related: If you're not ready to block a user, but want to mute their Snapchat notifications, consider checking out the Snapchat Do Not Disturb feature. 

To re-add a Snapchat friend, enter their username in the ‘Search’ bar at the top of your main screen and tap ‘+ Add’ to re-add the Snapchatter to your friends list.  

how-to-add-someone-on-snapchat

 

You’ve successfully unblocked someone on Snapchat!

We’ve covered everything you need to know about unblocking someone on Snapchat, including what to do after!

In the case that you have another rage-induced freakout, keep this article handy to unblock your annoying friends when they’re a little less annoying.

Want to learn more about Snapchat? Check out how to unlock ALL Snapchat Trophies in 2018!

 

Jordan Wahl
Author

Jordan Wahl

Jordan Wahl is a content marketing and SEO specialist who joined G2 Crowd after graduating with her BBA in Marketing from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. She loves anything that puts her in her creative space – including writing, art, and music (her absolute favorite).