How to Delete Your LinkedIn Account (In 4 Easy Steps)

Mara Calvello
Mara Calvello  |  February 8, 2019

Sometimes I forget that LinkedIn is technically a social media platform.

Probably because I feel so productive when I’m on the site. From browsing profiles in LinkedIn Private Mode to uploading a resume to LinkedIn, and even discovering how to post an article on LinkedIn, there’s so much you can do to build your professional brand and grow your career.

However, just because I’ve had a positive experience on the platform, doesn’t mean that everyone has. Plus, even with a better than average privacy policy, it’s easy for LinkedIn to gather plenty of personal data about you -- data you may not always want to be shared.

Whether you no longer want LinkedIn harvesting your data or simply no longer feel the need to have a LinkedIn profile, you may be wondering how to delete your account.

If you’d like to step-by-step instructions on how to delete your LinkedIn account, just keep reading!

How to delete a LinkedIn account

While some social media websites allow you to deactivate your account, LinkedIn isn’t one of them. So, make sure you’re fully ready to commit to deleting your LinkedIn account beforehand.

When you’re ready to say goodbye to all of the features and potential career opportunities LinkedIn brings to the table, deleting is easy. If you change your mind after your account has been deleted, you can start a shiny and new account using the same email address after a 24 hour waiting period.

Step 1: Settings & Privacy

When you’re logged into your LinkedIn account, click your profile picture icon at the top and select Settings & Privacy.

LinkedIn Settings & Privacy

Step 2: Select Change by Closing your LinkedIn account

Next, choose the Account tab at the top. You can either then click Account management on the left, or scroll to the bottom of the page until you see this setting.

Then, click Change next to Closing your LinkedIn account.

LinkedIn Account Settings

Step 3: Choose a reason for closing your LinkedIn account

On the next page, tell LinkedIn why you’re closing your account. If your reason isn’t listed, choose Other and give feedback in the box provided.

Delete Your LinkedIn Account

Step 4: Enter in your password and click close account

The final step in closing your LinkedIn account is typing in your password. You can also choose to unsubscribe from LinkedIn email communications and invitations.

Finally, click Close account.

Close LinkedIn Account

Breaking up isn’t hard to do

At least, when you’re breaking up with your LinkedIn account.

No matter your reason for wanting to delete your LinkedIn account, doing so can be done in just a few steps. Just remember that there’s no going back!

Want to delete yourself from other social media platforms? Check out our articles on:

Mara Calvello
Author

Mara Calvello

Mara is a Senior Content Marketing Specialist at G2 Crowd. In her spare time, she's typically at the gym, reading a book from her overcrowded bookshelf, or right in the middle of a Netflix binge.