How to Block Someone on Snapchat (+ What Happens After)

Jordan Wahl
Jordan Wahl  |  November 26, 2018

There’s nothing worse than interacting with people that you dislike, am I right? I’m right.

But here’s the thing – you shouldn’t have to.

People change, relationships end, and old friends can turn evil – whatever the case may be, blocking these people on social media is a smart move.

That being said, I’m here to show you how to block someone on Snapchat. If you know how to use Snapchat, this should be a breeze.

How to block someone on Snapchat

 Below I’ll go through the process step-by-step with photos (for the visual learners in the house). I’ll also discuss what happens when you block someone on Snapchat, how to delete someone on Snapchat, and answer frequently asked questions. Let’s get to it.

If you're curious how to block people on other platforms, check out How to Block Someone on Social Media

To block a Snapchat friend:

1. Navigate to the ‘Search’ bar

Start by opening the Snapchat app and navigating to your main screen. At the top of this screen you’ll find the ‘Search’ bar – tap this. 

blocking-someone-on-snapchat

 

 2. Enter the username and select the user you want to block

Start typing the name of the person you want to block. Once it populates under ‘My Friends,’ tap the user’s icon.

blocking-friend-on-snapchat

 

 3. Open the user settings

In the top-left corner of the screen you’ll find three horizontal lines – tap these to open the menu with options related to the Snapchat user you’ve selected.

menu-to-block-someone-on-snapchat

 

 4. Block the user

 Tap ‘Block’ at the bottom of the drop-down menu to move forward with blocking the user.

how-to-block-someone-on-snapchat5. Confirm the block

Snapchat will require you to confirm that you want to block the user. Tap ‘Block’ once more to block the user. 

how-to-block-someone-on-snapchat

 

 6. Tell Snapchat why you’re blocking this user

Whether the person you’re blocking is harassing you or they’re just downright annoying, Snapchat wants to know why you’re blocking this person so that they can respond accordingly to keep the Snapchat community fun and safe!

reasons-to-block-someone-on-snapchat
 

What happens when you block someone on Snapchat

 So you've successfully blocked someone on Snapchat. Wondering what happens next? Let's answer some of the commonly asked questions about blocking on Snapchat.

Is the block permanent?

Nope! Blocking a Snapchat friend isn’t permanent. You can unblock them at any time.

Tip: Learn how to unblock someone on Snapchat here.

Can the person I blocked still see my Story or send me Snaps?

When you block a user, they can no longer view your Snapchat Stories or send you any type of Snap or Chat. If you’d like to block the user from viewing your Stories but still want to receive Snaps from them, you can delete a user.

Keep in mind: There is a difference between blocking and deleting on Snapchat.

 If you block a user, they won't find any trace of your account and they will be unable to contact you in any way from their account.

 If you delete a user from your Snapchat friends list, they will find you in their friends list when searching and they can continue sending you snaps (depending on your privacy settings), but they can’t see your Stories.

How to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat

Wondering if the person can tell you blocked him or her? Don’t worry – there really is no way for them to know for certain. 

While blocking someone does stop them from seeing your Stories or sending you Snaps, they won’t receive a notification that you blocked them. The only way they could tell is if the user searches for you in their friends list. If you block them, you won't show up in their search.

 

 How to delete someone on Snapchat

To remove a Snapchat friend:

1. Navigate to the ‘Search’ bar

 Start by opening the Snapchat app and navigating to your main screen. At the top of this screen you’ll find the ‘Search’ bar – tap this.

deleting-someone-on-snapchat

 

 2. Enter the username and select the user you want to delete

 Start typing the name of the person you want to delete. Once it populates under ‘My Friends,’ tap the user’s icon.

deleting-friend-on-snapchat

 

 3. Open the user settings

In the top-left corner of the screen you’ll find three horizontal lines – tap these to open the menu with options related to the Snapchat user you’ve selected.

menu-to-block-someone-on-instagram

  

4. Delete the Snapchat friend

 Tap ‘Remove Friend’ at the bottom of the drop-down menu. 

how-to-delete-someone-on-snapchat 5. Confirm to delete

 Snapchat will require you to confirm that you want to delete the user. Tap ‘Remove’ once more to remove the user.

how-to-delete-someone-on-snapchat

 

Time to cut ties

There you have it! Everything you need to know about blocking and deleting people on Snapchat.

Now, it’s time to cut ties with those people making you feel uncomfortable or annoyed!

Want to learn more about Snapchat? Check out our article on how to unlock ALL Snapchat Trophies in 2018!

Jordan Wahl
Author

Jordan Wahl

Jordan Wahl is a content marketing and SEO specialist who joined G2 Crowd after graduating with her BBA in Marketing from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. She loves anything that puts her in her creative space – including writing, art, and music (her absolute favorite).